The Mind Map

by Adam Dray

I’ve done some basic analysis of the mind map and it’s led me to some cool ideas.

First off, I cataloged the list of words written on it: Light, Construction, Culture, Heaven, Altruism, Religion, H., Dove, Lamb, Minoris North, Poise, Future, Inspriation, Science, Man, Child, Equator, Learning, Arts, Defense, Intell., Percep., Vernal, March 21st, Receptive, Home, Fam., Magnet, Sensation, Appetite, 1st, Socials, Will, Earthward, Stability, South, Attractive, Spe., Spinalis, Equator (again), Ambit., J., Autumn, Positive, Industry, Elect., East, Th’ Past, Wealth, Wolf, Hades, Serpent, Destruction, Darkness, Leopard, Lion, Exit, Repulsion.

They’re evocative words with a few exceptions (“Fam.” is probably Family but what are “Spe.” and “H.” and “J.”?).

More exciting, there are Zodiacal symbols on the map. I see the marks for Aries, Taurus, Cancer, Leo, Gemini, and maybe Pisces and Aquarius. This means I will use astrology as the basis of Character for the game. And maybe for Situation; that’d be cool. I found some awesome stuff at astrology-numerology.com that describes positive and negative traits for each sign and lists of keywords for the signs. These is great fodder for character generation.

I can get into stuff like which planet is in your sign and so on, if I have time. That will be great for Situation. There’s also a page on synastry, or astrological relationship analysis. That might be useful for my interpersonal relationship system.

Published in: on February 16, 2007 at 9:29 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rpgchallenge.wordpress.com/2007/02/16/the-mind-map/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Adam,

    I’m glad to see the mind map is proving fruitful for you. My intent in including it was pretty much in line with your approach. Your goals for the design also sound intriguing. I know my image set is pretty challenging with its varied themes, and I’m excited to see what you do with it.

    Cheers,

    Eric


Leave a Reply

